The first Anglican church in the parish (local church area) was St Philip’s Waratah, which was erected in 1870 and extended in 1916 and 1938.
Land for St Matthew’s Georgetown was donated after WWII by a local family, the Bakers. The first building on the site was the church hall, which was completed in 1947 and used for many events, including church fairs and debutant balls.
St Matthew’s Church was designed by architect RL Skinner of Mosman, Sydney and dedicated in 1966. In 2001 the original hall was destroyed by fire. It was replaced by the current hall, meeting room and kitchen complex.
In 1982 members of St Philip’s founded St Philip’s Christian College. In 2012 the St Philip’s church and rectory were sold to form part of the growing school’s campus and the congregation moved to worship at St Matthew’s Georgetown.
Windows and artworks
St Matthew’s has two notable stained glass windows featuring the Bible stories of Jesus at a Wedding at Cana and the Last Supper.
The Last Supper is also the subject of a treasured tapestry made by parishoners.